Title: Adding Textcolor states to Explorer ItemsView/Command Module Post by: Dave Senior on October 26, 2011, 06:13:49 pm Use Res Spy if possible when testing these edits.
http://vistastylebuilder.com/forum/index.php?topic=1290.0 (64bit only) Helpful links: http://vistastylebuilder.com/forum/index.php?topic=1521.0 http://vistastylebuilder.com/forum/index.php?topic=215.0 I've tried to keep this as simple as possible , call it a getting started guide ....... To add Hover /pressed textcolors etc to the Command Module find it's line of id code in the Shellstyle Uifile (there's quite a few) , eg: Code: XML Button3d background="dtb(CommandModule, 3, 2)" Now add : Code: XML foreground="themeable(gtc(commandmodule, 3 , 2, 3803), windowtext)" (the "3, 2" part is what we are using in this example,change it to match the part you are adding to, 4, 3 4, 2 etc....) Now using WSB add the textcolor:color property to all the states below : Explorer & Shell > Explorer > CommandModule > SplitButtonLeft and Explorer & Shell > Explorer > CommandModule > Button Small example of how the UIFILE should look after you've edited it: (http://i1134.photobucket.com/albums/m603/Dave_Sr_2011/Untitled-22.png) Do the same at the CPLCommandModule locations in the uifile and WSB to get the textcolor states to work in the Control Panel command module . For Explorer Items View ,save explorerframe.dll to desktop ,in 40960 UIFILE ,add : Code: XML foreground="themeable(gtc(class, part, state), windowtext"after the : Code: XML Background=themeable(dtb( ItemsView::ListView, 1, 2) argb(0, 0, 0, 0))"code ..You can do the same for the other states,just have to use trial and error till you get what you want. NOTE: Usually you have to point the class, part, state to a textcolor that already exists in the default .msstyle when editing the 40960 uifile or explorer will crash when you try to use other themes,some places work ok though,I pointed mine to the states here : Explorer & Shell > Explorer > TreeView > TreeItem > Hot to Hot Selected . In this screen Itemsview mouseover textcolor can now be found here in WSB: Explorer & Shell > Explorer > Items View > ItemsView > Search Label > Textcolor:color (http://i1134.photobucket.com/albums/m603/Dave_Sr_2011/ItemsView.png) For the Subtext see this post: http://vistastylebuilder.com/forum/index.php?topic=1041.msg5235#msg5235 Most of the textcolor states can be realized in Explorer : Header,Groupheader, Itemsview, just takes a bit of patience.... A few screens of some I did a while ago..... (http://i1134.photobucket.com/albums/m603/Dave_Sr_2011/Themes/CommandModule.png) (http://i1134.photobucket.com/albums/m603/Dave_Sr_2011/Themes/ItemsViewHeaderText.png) (http://i1134.photobucket.com/albums/m603/Dave_Sr_2011/Themes/exp.png) Title: Re: Adding Textcolor states to Explorer ItemsView/Command Module Post by: NOFX1994 on October 26, 2011, 11:34:16 pm wow very cool dave. what theme is that? I knew you could not go without tinkering with new stuff lol
Title: Re: Adding Textcolor states to Explorer ItemsView/Command Module Post by: PHo3niX on October 27, 2011, 03:13:58 pm Awesome info, just was I was looking for.
I'm having some trouble making it work though. I backed up and modified the UIFILE in themes\base\shell\normalcolor\shellstyle.dll compiled & saved with reshacker. I verified it looked as in the picture you posted. Added textcolor properties in WSB and save/apply. I also tried with ResSpy as instructed, with the UIFILE.bin extracted with Reshacker inside c:\replace\shellstyle.dll\UIFILE\ with the same result. What am I overlooking ? Title: Re: Adding Textcolor states to Explorer ItemsView/Command Module Post by: Dave Senior on October 27, 2011, 04:38:15 pm What's happening?
A: Is explorer crashing when you try to apply the theme? if so you've written the code incorrectly. or, B: You just can't see the results of the edits? You must've missed some locations or edited the wrong ones,there are quite a few, not just the ones you see in the picture I posted. When testing the shellstyle with res spy,after you begin the test you have to restart explorer for the edits to show. Stick at it,try just doing Code: xml background="dtb(CommandModule, 3, 2)" parts till you get those working,easier to find your problem if you do things one at a time till you get the hang of it. Title: Re: Adding Textcolor states to Explorer ItemsView/Command Module Post by: PHo3niX on October 28, 2011, 10:55:30 am Thank you so much Dave, I got it working at last.
After a little logic thinking I realized I didn't messed up modifying the UIFILE code, it wasn´t that difficult. I remembered what you told me about replacing the shellstyle in the Temp folder, and in that moment I realized it had to be done every time you make a change. Somehow I was working with the assumption that VSB used the shellstyle in the skin directory and the one in temp folder was created for backup purposes. It took me one headburning day, but I've learned a lot in the process, now I can understand the code in the UIFILE and maybe soon enough I´ll be making modifications myself. Anyway, thank you again, your work in that awesome dark skin and in the UIFILE has been very inspirational. Title: Re: Adding Textcolor states to Explorer ItemsView/Command Module Post by: JoCe-from-France on July 15, 2012, 03:53:41 am that's so white !!! :cool:
haha! Title: Re: Adding Textcolor states to Explorer ItemsView/Command Module Post by: koumy on February 14, 2020, 12:28:23 pm hm , Tried under windows 10 but no way to highlight 3d commandbar button when hovering text button :/
Title: Re: Adding Textcolor states to Explorer ItemsView/Command Module Post by: 3am on February 14, 2020, 04:19:47 pm Still works in 10 for me:
(https://imgur.com/7lCcTYh.png) I added foreground="rgb(255,0,0)" to all 9 instances of: background="dtb(CommandModule, 3, 2)" background="dtb(CommandModule, 3, 3)" background="dtb(CommandModule, 3, 4)" to change the hover, pressed and keyfocused commandmodule button textcolors to red. Title: Re: Adding Textcolor states to Explorer ItemsView/Command Module Post by: koumy on February 14, 2020, 04:48:59 pm Thanks once again 3am, with your detailed info I could fix it and now hovering color is working nice .
Regards |